I'm new at upholstery and could use some advice and pointers on an application. I have a 1974 Datsun 260Z and I've installed leather seat covers with little issues because the installation only required some stretching and hog rings. My next leather project are the door panels. I'm using a door covering from a UK supplier that sells on e-bay, J-F Customs. I've listed some of my hurdles and how I think I can address them.

1) The existing door panels are in fair to poor shape. The hardboard is warped from moisture damage, several of the door clip holes are torn out, and a previous owner cut holes for speakers. I plan on using new hardboard to patch the speaker hole and fill in any space between the hole and patch with caulk. The torn out door clip holes will be repaired with fiberglass. I've straightened and reinforced the warped areas with metal that I've glued in place.

2) The original vinyl door covering has some relief in the form of diagonal channels in its central portion (see attached photograph). The leather piece I purchased has this central portion stitched in contrasting red but since there is no foam attached, the leather is completely flat. I plan on gluing 1/4-inch fabric backed foam (scrim foam???) to the leather and then hand sewing what had been sewn already in red. I would then mark off the diagonal lines on the leather and sew them on a machine in black to blend in with the black leather but still provide a slight relief. Does this sound reasonable?