By Mtl_Biker
No, I don't want to cover my cat! :) But I want to make a cover so that my cat can enjoy a new bar stool. I just replaced my old bar stools with new quite modern and very shiny and slippery bar stools. With the old stools I often placed a folded up towel on top and the cat would jump on and curl up to watch me work in the kitchen. Well the cat HATES the new stools because a towel just slides right off when he jumps up and he falls off. He's actually more than a little pissed off at me right now.

I'm new to sewing, only having started at the beginning of Covid when I was forced to isolate at home due to business closures here. I discovered sewing and now I have 2 and a half industrial sewing machines. (The half is a Sailrite LSZ-1 walking foot portable.) Anyway, what I've been making is masks to start, then all kinds of bags... firewood totes, wine totes, boat bags and a lot of purses using interfaced cotton, Sunbrella, Cordura, waxed canvas and more recently leather.

All that's to say that I'm not a total novice when it comes to sewing, but I have never really designed anything from scratch. I've always found patterns for free or purchase. And I've never recovered a sofa or chair.

What I'd like to do now is make a cover for these slippery bar stools (photo attached) which I could slip over the top of the chair and fasten either with velcro or just via an elastic around the base. I've got some nice comfy (according to the cat) flannel and I could back it with suede to help it stay in place, but I have no idea at all how to design that cover.

Any tips on how I should approach this? How to get started? I'm at a loss right now. All I really want is something that would help to keep the cat from falling off.

Thanks for any help.
IMG_9691.JPG
IMG_9691.JPG (76.63 KiB) Viewed 1447 times
John liked this
By John