Hey, all,

I need to reupholster my office chair. After almost 20 years, the foam is shot. I suspect I'll need some pretty high-density foam for this, since the foam layer is pretty thin, and the chair takes a lot of abuse.

Does anyone have a good source for foam for this? Thank you in advance.
BigRig, thanks for your reply. Never heard of steaming foam, but I'm new to all of this, and I'll google it. I'm in Virginia.

I am going to need some high-density (or higher-ILD) foam for a bench seat in my boat, though. I had a local fellow re-upholster it a few years back, and he replaced the original foam with much lower-density foam and now it beats you to death underway unless you sit on a throwable cushion.

Are there any good sources out there with decent prices? The prices and specs I find online seem to be all over the map. A lot of them don't spec the ILD figure or even the lb/cu ft number...very confusing.

Thanks again.
@Blucher,

You have already done some foam research. Save a lot of hassle and just order from Albright ask for the high density blue foam and you will have that bench seat covered. A 3" thickness is more than comfortable.
I re did this office chair a couple of years ago for my Dad. The padding that was in it originally was just the crappy Polly stuffing and it had definitely seen better days. I replaced it all with 1” high density foam and then another 1” of foam in the areas that you see the tan vinyl. Gives it a little more bolstered look. I used 2.5 density 50 ILD foam. DLT supply or Albrights are good places to get it. The foam is a little stiff at first but breaks in to be very comfortable. Depending on how much foam you are going to be buying, I use a place out of Indiana called US Foam. They have very good prices on slab foam and if you order $100 worth it ships free.
John, Larry in OK liked this