General discussions about our craft and industry.
By Merc1950
Hey Guys, new to the forum. I took Johns beginner course and I just bought a machine about a year ago, having issues dialing this machine in. I bought it from a guy that was doing banners, I got the impression he didn't need to have the machine fine tuned for a proper stitch. I had to retime it, replace a few parts, etc. 1) I can not seems to get the stitch length I want, in the pic, this is as long of a stitch I can get. 2) The stitch seems to be crocked, looks like a leather stitch not a straight stitch I'm after. I'm going to be upholstering my 50 Mercury but I need to get this machine dialed in. Thanks.
By Adam12
Few details needed, what size needle and thread? How thick is your stack of material? Are your reverse stitches the same length as your forward stitches?
By ctmk2
I’m no professional but:

Stitch length looks on par as I only get about 5 stitches/inch out of my 206RB… and it tends to get shorter the thicker the material running under the foot.

I could be wrong but I believe the later models started to get longer stitch lengths (RB-3 and up with the higher foot lift) perhaps someone else can confirm or deny this…

As for servicing I use a manual from a seiko which was a copy of the consew and it’s not the typical crappy photocopy manual that you get with the consew… it helped me dial in my machine after I paid a “professional “ with terrible results.

https://www.supsew.com/download/Seiko/S ... Manual.pdf

Edit: my stitches also stagger as yours do….

Hope this helps a bit
-Dave
Merc1950 liked this
By Adam12